August 8–10. Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa

The first North American useR! was held at Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, August 8-10, 2007. It follows on from successful meetings in Vienna, Austria, in 2006 and 2004. The meeting brought together users and developers of R to describe and discuss the latest developments in R and R packages.


useR! is now over, and we’ve updated the website with photos, presentations and posters from the conference.

Don’t forget to check out the results of the programming competitions too:

  • Big programming competition
  • Programming competition carried at out useR

useR! 2008

Don’t forget to check out useR! 2008 in Dortmund, Germany



Online registration is now closed. Registration will be available on site – please email for any questions.

Before 15 May$150$75
After 15 May$180$90
On the day$200$100


Tutorials: Wednesday Aug 8 9:00-3:30

Keynote Speaker: John Chambers, “Programming with R” Aug 8 4:10-5:00pm

Complete program

There will be two parallel contributed sessions along with each invited session. There’ll be a banquet, tentatively planned for Thursday night. A programming competition perhaps Wednesday night. At lunches there’ll be an option to join a focus group to discuss selected topics

Lunches on Aug 9 and 10 will be provided as part of the registration fee. Morning and afternoon tea will also be provided.

The conference will finish at 3pm. Ames is hosting a political straw poll on Saturday August 11, for which Ames is expecting an influx of people to town. It will probably be wise for many useR! 2007 attendees to avoid the rush and plan to fly out on Friday night.

Conference and tutorials will take place in Howe Hall. Please collect registration materials from the Howe Hall foyer when you arrive.


  • Springer
  • Chapman and Hall
  • XLSolutions

Program Committee

  • Douglas Bates,
    University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • Dianne Cook, Iowa State University
  • Dave Henderson, Insightful Corporation
  • Heike Hofmann, Iowa State University
  • Olivia Lau, Harvard University
  • Michael Lawrence, Iowa State University
  • Luke Tierney, University of Iowa
  • Hadley Wickham, Iowa State University